Lego American Civil War - Battle of Little Round Top - 1863

The Battle of Gettysburg, which took place 150 years ago, was a crucial turning point in the American Civil War. This was the time when the Confederates were the closest to winning a significant victory over the Union, with the independence issue. The Union, however stood firm and won after three days of brutal fighting.

One of the key moments of this fight took place July 2, 1863 in the hills of Little Round Top.La 3rd Brigade of the 1st Division of the V Corps, under the command of Colonel Strong Vincent, arrived just in time to hold the line against Brigade Division of General John Bell Hood. On the left flank of the Union Army, the 20th Maine Regiment under the command of Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain has withstood two attacks by the 15th Infantry Regiment of Alabama. Short of ammunition, Chamberlain then led a courageous bayonet charge which cleared the ground and helped secure victory at Little Round Top.

Colonel William C. Oates led the 15th Infantry Regiment of Alabama at Little Round Top. The regiment had made a forced march many kilometers to reach the battlefield, before committing the attack directly. They were forced to attack the climb under intense heat, without water. The only advantage that was given to them is to fight was with a workforce of 2 against 1, be more than 600 men. The fight was brutal, sometimes melee. The bayonet charge of the 20th Maine was the end of the 15th Regiment who became annihilated.

Although this slide represents the 20th regiment, he was not the only regiment engaged that day. The 16th Michigan, New York 44th and 83rd Pennsylvania also showed extraordinary bravery and suffered terrible losses, including Col. Strong Vincent himself, fell in defending its positions.

[Not a valid template]

Source : Gary^The^Procrastinator

Share This Post On

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Lego Guerre Civile Américaine – Bataille de Little Round Top – 1863

La bataille de Gettysburg qui s’est déroulée il y a 150 ans, a été un tournant crucial dans la guerre civile américaine. Ce fut le moment où les Confédérés ont été les plus proche de remporter une victoire significative sur l’Union, avec comme enjeu leur indépendance. L’Union a cependant tenu bon et a gagné après trois jours de combats brutaux.

Un des moments clés de cette lutte a eu lieu le 2 Juillet 1863 dans les hauteurs de Little Round Top.La 3e brigade de la 1re Division du V Corps, sous les ordres du colonel Vincent Strong, est arrivée juste à temps pour tenir la ligne contre la Brigade de La division du Général John Bell Hood. Sur le flanc gauche de l’armée de l’Union, le 20e Régiment du Maine sous le commandement de Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain a résisté à deux agressions par le 15e régiment d’infanterie de l’Alabama. A court de munitions, Chamberlain a ensuite mené une courageuse charge à la baïonnette qui a dégagée le terrain et a aidé à obtenir la victoire à Little Round Top.

Le Colonel William C. Oates a conduit le 15e régiment d’infanterie de l’Alabama à Little Round Top. Le régiment avait effectué une marche forcée sur de nombreux kilomètres pour arriver sur le champ de bataille, avant d’engager directement l’attaque. Ils ont été forcés d’attaquer la montée sous une chaleur intense, sans eau. Le seul avantage qu’ils leur a été donné est de combattre à été avec des effectifs de 2 contre 1, sois plus de 600 hommes. Le combat a été brutale, parfois au corps à corps. La charge à la baïonnette du 20e Maine a été le fin du 15e régiment qui s’est fait anéantir.

Bien que ce diaporama représente le 20e régiment, il n’était pas le seul régiment engagé ce jour là. Le 16e Michigan, 44e New York et le 83e Pennsylvanie ont également montré une extraordinaire bravoure et ont souffert de terribles pertes, y compris le Colonel Vincent Strong lui-même, tombé en défendant ses positions.

[Not a valid template]

Source : Gary^The^Procrastinator

Share This Post On

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *